Get First 3 Minutes Free on your First Call and Chat on New Sign-Up. Register Now

Navratri 2019: Significance and Auspicious Dates

During the auspicious days of Navratri 2019, Goddess Shakti demonstrates herself in 3 forms - Goddess Durga, Goddess Saraswati and Goddess Lakshmi. The primary three days of Chaitra Navratri 2019 is devoted to Goddess Durga, the Goddess of energy, on the next three days, Goddess Lakshmi, the Goddess of prosperity, is worshipped and the latter three days are dedicated to Goddess Saraswati, the Goddess of Knowledge and wisdom. The Pooja ceremonies of each of the nine days of Chaitra Navratri 2019 are given below: Navratri 2019

 Day 1 – Pratipada (प्रतिपदा)

On this day the ceremonies performed are ‘Ghatasthapana’, ‘Chandra Darshan’ and Maa ‘Shailputri Puja is done on the first day of Chaitra Navratri 2019.

 Day 2 – Dwitiya (द्वितीय)

The ceremonies of the day are ‘Sindhara Dooj’ and Maa Brahmacharini Pooja is done.

 Day 3 – Teej (तीज)

The Third day is renowned as ‘Gauri Teej’ or ‘Sauhagya Teej’ and the main ritual of the day is Pooja of Maa Chandraghanta.

 Day 4 – Chaturthi (चतुर्थी)

Fourth Day of Navratri is also known as ‘Varad Vinayaka Chauth’, on this day the devotees observe the Pooja of Maa Kushmanda.

 Day 5 – Panchami (पंचमी)

The fifth day is also denoted as ‘Lakshmi Panchami’ and main pooja observed on this day is ‘Naag Pooja and Maa Skandamata Pooja'.

 Day 6 – Shashthi (षष्ठी)

Popularly known as ‘Yamuna Chauth’ or ‘Skanda Sasthi’ and Pooja of Maa Katyayani is observed on the sixth day of Navratri.

 Day 7 – Saptami (सप्तमी)

Seventh-day is renowned as ‘Maha Saptami’ and the ‘Kalratri Pooja’ is performed to pray the sanctifications of the Goddess.

 Day 8 – Ashtami (अष्टमी)

Eight days is the main day of ‘Durga Ashtami’ and is also called as ‘Annapurna Ashtami’. On this day Pooja of Maa Mahagauri and Maa Sandhi are performed.

 Day 9 – Navami (नवमी)

The last and ninth day of the Navratri festival is observed as ‘Rama Navami’ and on this day the Pooja of Maa Siddhidatri is performed.

Significant Timings On Chaitra Navratri

Daughter of Lord Himalaya - Goddess Shailputri is worshipped on the first day of Navratri.
  • Sunrise (Suryodaya): 06-Apr-2019 06:18 AM.
  • Sunset (Suryast): 06-Apr-2019 18:40 PM.
  • Pratipada Tithi Starts at 05-Apr-2019 at 14:20 PM.
  • Pratipada Tithi Ends 06-Apr-2019 15:23 PM.
  • Abhijit Muhurat Time 12:04 PM - 12:54 PM.
  • Ghatasthapana Muhurta 06:18 AM - 10:26 AM.

The significance of Chaitra Navratri

Chaitra Navratree is the most substantial festival of Hindus. Devotees worship Maa Durga, the Goddess of energy, to be blessed by Her divine powers. It is believed that devotees worshipping Goddess Durga attains salvation if they pray without any desires to be fulfilled. Chaitra Navratree also symbolises the beginning of the summer season and is observed when Mother Nature ensures a climatic change. It is universal trust that by observing a fast during the 9 days of Chaitra Navratree the human body is prepared for the subsequent summer season.
Compatibility of Different Moon Signs- By Astrozcafe.com